Self Recognition

Sabeena Saleem
2 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

Going back to the past when I have started my fellowship at AMAL and I was not expecting the quick changes in my personality. I have joined this platform to improve my confidence, and to my surprise, I was gifted with the ability to recognize the hidden talents in me. It was the horror night that scared me of future insecurities. I became restless and it seemed like that I would be deprived of all that I had. At that moment, I desired anything other than routine activities but did not get a single. I thought about having a ride, but it was not possible at 1:00 AM. The next day was Saturday and I was going to attend the third session. There, two activities were done and one of them was connecting the dots. I just wrote the sentences and connected them, but one of the fellows from Batch 164 has designed her dots aesthetically. It reminded me of the days when I was used to practicing calligraphy and designing on paper. After the session, I thought of it and a few stuff came to my mind and I just started sketching it on paper with a pencil. Then I painted the stuff with different color markers.

Calligraphy

The very next day I came for traveling to a village just after taking the session at AMAL. We were assigned to write a blog on spending a day with kindness. That was the first day I spend quality time unintentionally doing the stuff which was in my default system and I was unaware of that fact. So, the more I spent time with myself, I realized that I love to observe the sun setting and all the natural phenomenons along with traveling. So here comes the photograph I took that time.

Nature

The AMAL fellowship put optimism in me and now it has become part of my personality. It was quality time to be spent at AMAL with my Program Manager, Program Assistant, and fellows. I’m grateful to all of them for giving me the bundles of memories.

--

--